Community Arts Awards Commemorate the City’s Art and Cultural Angels

The Times Picayune /


In a sense, the circus had come to town. In November, the Arts Council New Orleans debuted its inagural LUNA Fete, a sound and light show at Gallier Hall. Then, on Dec. 3, the Arts Council turned its attention to its 38th annual Community Arts Awards Celebration, presented by First NBC Bank. Mardi Gras World proved an ideal spot for the party described as “Carousel meets 19th-century African safari.” A collaborative and creative spirit infused this late-afternoon soiree.

The awards are given to those who have contributed much to the arts and cultural landscape in New Orleans. This year’s honorees were: gallery owner Arthur Roger (who flew to Art Basel the next day), A Studio in the Woods, Hogan Jazz Archives at Tulane, Mardi Gras Indian Chief Howard Miller, arts and culture advocate Jeanne Nathan, Young Men Olympian Junior Benevolent Association, and the Zion Harmonizers. For the presentation, each award recipient had a video made about them by filmmakers Sergio Andrews Lobo-Navia, Kat Sotelo, Kevin McCaffrey, Willam Sabourin, Steph Smith and Chris Haney.

Applauding the honorees — as well as enjoying music from Germaine Bazzle, and thePeter Harris Trio, and a flamenco and aerialist performance by Eliza Llewellynand Liza Rose — were Board President Tiffany Adler; Arts Council President/CEOKim Cook; Arts Council Deputy Director Nick Stillman; event emcee Mark Romig; Mark Preston; and CCH Pounder (who gave the opening remarks).

Also attending were: Carl Little; Amanda Sibley; Rebecca Snedeker; Monica Zeringue; Bob Tannen; Jep Epstein; Tina and Barry Kern; Josh Mayer; Gregg Porter; Tommy Westervelt, Bev and Dr. Johnny Church; Linda Bjork; KidsmART’s Echo Olander; A Studio in the Wood’s Lucianne and Joe Carmichael; Ama Rogan; Cammie Hill-Prewitt and Ryan Prewitt (Hill-Prewitt works at A Studio in the Woods; it was a night off from his chef duties Peche!); NOMA’s Bill Fagaly; Contemporary Art Center’s Neil Barclay and Merit Shalett; and Ogden Museum of Southern Art’s William Andrews and Sarah Story, plus board members Allison Kendrick, Alexa Georges and Coleman Adler. The event’s honorary chairs were Susan and Ralph Brennan, and event chairs were Ivy and Shawn Barney.  

By Sue Strachan. 

View event photos on